Image 01


What is GSCB?

GSCB stands for Girl Scouts of the Chesapeake Bay. Our council spans the entire state of Delaware and the Eastern Shores of Maryland and Virginia. We encompass New Castle, Kent and Sussex Counties in Delaware; Cecil, Caroline, Queen Anne’s, Kent, Talbot, Dorchester, Wicomico, Worcester and Somerset Counties in Maryland as well as Accomac and Northampton Counties in Virginia.

What is Girl Scouting about?

Girl Scouts is the world’s preeminent girl leadership organization dedicated to creating girls of courage, confidence and character who make the world a better place. In partnership with committed adult volunteers, girls develop skills and qualities that will serve them throughout their lives. Girl Scouts learn leadership, strong values, social conscience and conviction about their own potential and self-worth.

Founded in 1912 by Juliette Gordon Low, Girl Scouts’ membership has grown from 18 members in Savannah, Georgia to 3.4 million members throughout the United States, including U.S. territories, and in more than 90 countries through USA Girl Scouts Overseas (serving girls with military parents deployed overseas).

To learn more, take a look at Volunteer Essentials.

Girl Scout Grade Levels

  • Girl Scout Daisy (grades K-1)
  • Girl Scout Brownie (grades 2-3)
  • Girl Scout Junior (grades 4-5)
  • Girl Scout Cadette (grades 6-8)
  • Girl Scout Senior (grades 9-10)
  • Girl Scout Ambassador (grades 11-12)

What activities can Girl Scouts participate in?

Girls are encouraged to get out of their comfort zones, try new things and explore the world around them. As an organization, the Girl Scouts are committed to safety first! Click here to read about specific Safety Activity Checkpoints.

Content Guidelines

  • Girl Scouts should be referred to as “Girl Scout Brownies” or “Girl Scout Juniors,” not as “Scouts” or “Brownies.” Names should always be capitalized.
  • The Girl Scout logo and trademark are owned by GSUSA and should not be used.