header1 header2
header3 header4 header5


header7 header8 header9 header10


Religious Awards


Girl Scout Scholarships

National Young
Women of Distinction

Religious Awards

On My Honor




Everything in Girl Scouting is based on the Girl Scout Promise and Law. The Girl Scout Law includes many of the principles and values common to most faiths. Thus, while a secular organization, Girl Scouts has, since the movement began, encouraged girls to take spiritual journeys via their faiths' religious recognitions. Read more about GSUSA’s philosophy on faith and Girl Scouting.


my promise my faith


My Promise, My Faith

Girls of all grade levels can now earn the My Promise, My Faith pin developed by Girl Scouts of the USA. This pin, which girls can earn once a year, complements existing religious recognitions and allows all girls to further strengthen the connection between their faith and Girl Scouts. A girl earns the My Promise, My Faith pin by carefully examining the Girl Scout Law and directly tying it to tenets of her faith.


Requirements for this pin are included in The Girl's Guide to Girl Scouting for all levels, see a summary (PDF).


Religious Recognitions

There are many faith-based and religious awards available through different religious traditions. Visit this site for more information.


Catholic Girl Scout Religious Awards through the Diocese of Wilmington

The Diocese of Wilmington offers a series of Religious Award Programs to Girl Scouts. These programs are designed to advance girls in religious knowledge and spiritual growth. A registered Girl Scout who is Catholic and attends Catholic School, CCD or regular religious instruction is eligible. These programs are voluntary and do not replace Girl Scout meetings.

Diocesan Awards
Cross Awards – 3rd grade Girl Scout Brownies. The Cross Awards symbolizes Faith. This program helps the Girl Scout find that God has a special plan for each of His children.
Anchor Awards – Girl Scout Juniors. The Anchor Award symbolizes Hope. This program helps the Girl Scout see Christ in herself and in others by serving them.
Heart Awards – Girl Scout Cadettes. The Heart Awards symbolizes Charity. This program helps the Girl Scout understand her role in making Christ present and active today.

National Awards
Family of God – Girl Scout Brownies. The Family of God Award helps the Girl Scout discover the presence of God in her daily life
as a member of her family and parish.
I Live My Faith – Girl Scout Juniors. The I Live My Faith Award helps the Girl Scout appreciate more deeply the place that God and religion occupy in her daily life.
Marian Medal – Girl Scout Cadettes. The Marian Medal helps the Girl Scout grow in appreciation of Mary and in understanding themselves.
Spirit Alive – Girl Scout Seniors and Ambassadors. This award helps the Girl Scout discover how the Holy Spirit moves in her life, calling her to greater participation in the Church’s ministry.

Parental participation is essential. The requirements are completed by the Girl Scout under the guidance of her parent, program moderator or troop leader. A logbook must be maintained by the Girl Scout and submitted for approval to the Catholic committee.
There is a nominal fee for the workbook and medal. Medals symbolizing each program are awarded at a special Diocesan ceremony.
For information, questions and/or an application to work on one of these awards, please contact Joan Przywara at 302-478-0693.


These two sites are valuable resources about the strength of GSUSA’s time-honored relationship with the Catholic Church:
Girl Scouts of the USA’s relationship with the Catholic Church

United States Conference of Catholic Bishops’ (USCCB) Committee on Laity, Marriage, Family Life and Youth (LMFLY)


Español | Contact Us | GSUSA

Our Privacy Policy © 1998-2016, Girl Scouts of the United States of America. All rights reserved.
The GIRL SCOUTS name, mark and all associated trademarks and logotypes, including the Trefoil Design, are owned by GSUSA.

United Way